top of page
Search

Made For You by Lauren Layne

Updated: Jan 9


Made For You

by Lauren Layne

Published by Forever

Book #2 in Best Mistakes series


When the Wrong Guy is Oh-So-Right

Will Thatcher is exactly the type of sexy playboy good girls like Brynn have always avoided. And yet there was still something about him she just couldn't resist. When Will moved across the country three years ago, Brynn vowed it was time to put him behind her. She never thought Will might have other plans . . .

Back in town, Will intends to get what he's always wanted-gorgeous, unforgettable Brynn. For years, he tormented the untouchable ice princess in a desperate bid for her attention. Now he has a new plan, and he'll do anything to rewrite their stormy past. This time, he's out to show Brynn that the imperfect man might be the best mistake of her life . . .


Genre:

 

Spoilers Ahead! Don't say I didn't warn ya!


Made For You is a the sequel to Only For You, and is part of the Best Mistakes series. I really enjoyed Only For You, so I was looking forward to reading it's sequel, centering around Sophie's perfectionist sister Brynn, and her playboy best friend Will. It was obvious in Only For You that Will was head over heels for Brynn, despite their hateful verbal attacks on one another. He kissed her, they hooked up ... and when he realized that Brynn didn't see him as someone she could love, just sleep with, he moved across the country to hopefully move on from her. Made For You starts three years after Only For You. Its Brynn's 31st birthday, and she is devastated she isn't married, or even engaged. One of the things on her life list. After she comes out of the bathroom after her breakdown, she see's Will, her arch nemesis. She has no idea that he has moved back just to win her over.


Brynn is a difficult character to fully appreciate. I wasn't a fan of her when she was trying so hard to be perfect. While I get why she did it (trauma from childhood bullying), knowing she wasn't truly like that was painful to read. When she took her "vacation" from her lists and life plan, she was way more tolerable and fun, but knowing she was planning on going back to her perfectionist ways, even though it wasn't working for her, and how she treated Will like a walking vibrator, it bothered me.


Which I guess is the point. We aren't supposed to like fake Brynn. Will doesn't. We are supposed to like the true Brynn. So in the end, when she finally ... FINALLY wakes up, and decides to let go of her past pain, and embrace herself, I was happy for her. Not just because she shredded her stupid lists and rules to a perfect life, and flew across the country to tell Will she loved him. I was happy that she was finally free. Most people can only hope to be able to free themselves from inner pain.


Will is a fun read. He knows what he wants, and goes after it. Knows Brynn so well, he knows what he can, and can't do, to have her actually see him. So when life crisis Brynn shows up on his door step, he is throw for a loop. He has to change up the plan. At first, I didn't really get his plan. Him exchanging insults with her didn't scream out to me "I love you!". I was confused. I was confused why a boy in love with someone since high school would antagonize her for years. It took me to close to the end of the story before I got it. Specifically when they made love. He needed to break down her walls before telling her how he felt. Had to ease her from enemy, to friend, to hopefully, lover. His terrified look before he makes love to her (and it was very different from their past sexual encounters) was telling. He was scared he was going to fail, because he didn't know if she was ready to hear it.


Made For You was great. While the whole enemy to lovers thing, best friend falls for sibling can be overdone, this story felt different. Brynn and Will's characters were deeper than one thought in the first book, and Lauren Layne writing in memories from high school, and them hooking up 3 years ago, gives this story much more depth. For Will it was love at first sight, and it never wavered, despite Brynn's shitty treatment of him. Of course, Brynn was trying to protect herself. Never in her wildest imagination did she think a guy like Will would actually like her. Which starts an epic war between the two, which can be frustrating at times, and entertaining as well. Will's insults stem from his frustration and misery that she doesn't even SEE him as anything other than a womanizing lazy jerk. Brynn's insults come from deep rooted insecurity, and jealousy. When she tells Will that she thinks she always loved him, I don't doubt it. Its no wonder why most of her insults brought up Will's tendencies of sleeping with the entire female population. The story itself is interesting, and I was never bored reading it. . This two book series is amazing, and I highly suggest that if you like romance, you need to pick these books up.




 



 



Sophie: "Well, if you had seen them, you'd know that Brynn hasn't always been quite so ..."

Will: "Prim? Humorless? Slightly dead behind the eyes?

Sophie: "Well, I can tell you two are going to have sweet pillow talk.


Will: "Hmm, I think this one has just a little too much give. Say, Princess, could you straddle me for a minute so I can get a sense of how much leverage a woman's knees could get on this thing?"


Will: "So now what do you think about this one? It's hard, but I'm kind of thinking it's just right."

Brynn: "Oh, wow, a blatantly obvious double entendre. How unexpected of you."


Will: "So what's with the midlife crisis?"

Brynn: "Why does everyone keep calling it that? Do you all think I'm going to die at sixty-two?"


Brynn: "You haven't been this celibate since the womb. Waiting for some STD medication to kick in?"


Brynn: "It's not easy when it's you! We're like Harry Potter and Voldemort. We're nemeses."

Will: "I'm talking sex and she's talking Harry Potter."


Brynn: "William Gregory Thatcher. Will you have a fling with me?"

Will smiles and gets out of the car.

Brynn: "Hey! You said you'd say yes!"

Will: "And I probably will."





Brynn: "Give me a chance, Will. Let me try to be the woman for you."

Will: "You idiot. You've always been the only woman for me."

Brynn: "I love you. I love you so much. I think somehow I always have."

Will: "Do you have any idea how long I've waited to hear you say that?

Brynn: "You might have heard it a lot sooner if you hadn't tried to woo me by running my bra up the flagpole my freshman year."

Will: "Foreplay, baby. Fifteen really long years of foreplay."


 

Check out the first book in the Best Mistakes series



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page