top of page
Search

Oblivion II by Jennifer L Armentrout

Updated: Jan 15


Oblivion II

by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Published by Entangled Teen

Daemon's Point of View in Onyx

Book #2 in LUX series


I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it.

And trouble’s the last thing I need, since I’m not exactly from around here. My people arrived on Earth from Lux, a planet thirteen billion light years away. Plus, if there’s one thing I know, it’s that humans can’t be trusted. We scare them. We can do things they only dream about, and honestly, we make them look weak as hell. ‘Cuz they are.

But Kat is getting to me in ways no one else has, and I can’t stop myself from wanting her—or wanting to use my powers to protect her. She makes me weak, and I’m the strongest of our kind, tasked with protecting us all. So this one simple girl…she can mean the end for us. Because the Luxen have an even bigger enemy—the Arum, and I need to stay on my game.

Falling for Katy—a human—won’t just place her in danger. It could get us all killed, and that’s one thing I’ll never let happen…



Genre:


Triggers:

Stalking (not by MC), Violence, Death

 

Be prepared! My ramblings are full of spoilers!


Oblivion part II is Daemon's point of view of the going on's in Onyx, the second book in the LUX series. To see my thoughts on Onyx, click here.

Let me start off by saying, there is only one thing I don't like. It's not even part of the story itself, but with the publisher. Parts II and III of Oblivion is not in paperback. Totally unacceptable.

I am not opposed to ebooks. Hell, most of my books are on my kobo. But if I really love a book or series, I tend to buy both ebook and paperback versions. There is something about holding a book that makes the experience that much better.

That aside, Oblivion part II is amazing. Heartbreaking, but amazing. I won't get too much into the plot line, as its all been covered before in my review of Onyx, but I will discuss some thoughts I have, specifically with Daemon. Onyx being in Katy's POV, I had a lot of observations on her character. In Oblivion, we learn so much about Daemon, especially in regards to his feelings for Katy. About how he feels in general. In part I, we know he is a good guy under all the ass hole commentary. Part II really explores how he feels about his family, his friends, how he processes crisises and tradgedy, and him coming face to face with emotions he isn't used to, like hurt and jealousy.

Daemon isn't new to relationships. He had one with Ash, that seems mostly about sex and convenience, and he admits to sleeping with human girls. Katy is the only woman who has really fought her attraction to him, which sucks when he actually wants her affection. Katy's connection with Blake made him feel jealousy for probably the first time, and he acted out on it. Katy's denial for her feelings, and telling Daemon his feelings were not real, hurt him. He isn't used to being in that position, and it was hard for him.

I am glad that Daemon did see the hypocrisy in Katy's actions though. When she thought Daemon and Ash were hooking up at the party, she left, and was so upset she blew up windows. At the same time, she is going out on dates, and kissing Blake. It bothers me in Onyx, and in Oblivion part II ... maybe more in this book, because we see how much it kills Daemon.

Something that isn't show too much in the original series, is just how close Daemon and Adam are. They had a few conversations in Oblivion part II, and you could sense that they really did consider each other brothers, if not by blood, and trusted one another. Daemon trusted more with Adam than he did with anyone else (with the exception of Katy). It makes Adam's death so much more tragic, and seeing how Dee is immediately following Adam's death, is awful.

In Onyx, I got why Daemon was so angry after Adam's death, but I didn't truly understand why he was so angry, he would leave Katy in the middle of the woods. Daemon lost another brother. His sister almost died, and hurts so much she probably wishes she did. He is expecting the DOD to come for them all at any time ... and all because the woman he loves couldn't trust him. We know this isn't true technically. Katy does trust Daemon. She truly was trying to prevent this from happening, and wanted to train so she could protect Daemon and Dee ... but it didn't work out sadly.

One thing I love about reading these stories in Daemon's point of view, is seeing how sure he is about his feelings for Katy. I get why Katy is confused about his feelings, but to read his thoughts about Katy ... ugh. So sweet. I always wondered why Daemon doesn't say he loves Katy to her in Onyx, and most of Opal, and we get an answer in part II. Bad things happen to those he loves, in his eyes.

Interesting note before I shove off ... Matthew. If you finished the series before reading these books in Daemon's point of view, you know that Matthew is the one who betrayed Beth and Dawson. After Adam's death, he supports Katy. Even talks to Daemon and tells him to go to her. That they need each other. Its hard to think that this Matthew ends up betraying Daemon and Katy in Origin. Does he hate humans? Does he just hate what bonding with humans has done to his family? Its hard to get a read on his character, and I still don't know what to think.

Oblivion gives incredible insight to Daemon, and the other characters we don't see too much of in Onyx, like Dee, and the Thompson's. We get extra "scenes", some that are fun to read, and others heartbreaking, but give the story that much more depth, and excitement. 5/5



 



 


Daemon: "What part of going straight to the house did you not understand? I feel like we've had this conversation before."

Katy: "There might be books in there waiting for me."

Daemon: "There might be Arum hanging around ready to eat you."

Katy: "You're here, so it's okay."

Daemon: "Yeah, but I'm trying to be proactive about this and not reactive. You're a pain in my ass."

Raising her middle finger, she scratched her cheek.

Daemon: "Nice, Kitten."


Daemon: "Okay. These are terrible. How can you mess up pancakes?"

Katy: "I don't know. I never made them. I kind of eyeballed the whole 'add water' part."

Daemon: "All you have to do is add water. It's not that hard."

Katy: "Guess you should've gone with Waffle House then."

Daemon: "there's a huge part of me that hopes you messed them up on purpose."

Katy: "And why's that?"

Daemon: "Because if you can't make pancakes then I'm not sure we can be friends."

Katy: "Oh. I'm so heartbroken."

Daemon: "You should be. I'm a good friend."


Katy: "You're all up in my personal space."

I was totally up in her personal space. There wasn't more than an inch or two between out bodies. When I forced my lungs to inhale, I caught the peachy scent that was all hers.

Daemon: "Sorry."

Katy: "You're not sorry at all."

Daemon: "True."


Truth be told, I wasn't exactly sure what it was that I did feel for her. Lust? Hell yes. I wanted all over her and in her, but it was more than that. There was a deep fondness for her. I respected her. My chest did damn strange things when I was around her, thought about her. I cared about her. Strongly. I just didn't know what all that spelled exactly. - Daemon


Katy: "You are not servicing me in any way."

Daemon: "Not yet."


Katy: "Do you ... feel anything around me?"

Daemon: "Other than what I felt this morning when I saw how good you looked in those jeans?"


Katy: "I think I'm coming down with something."

Daemon: "What's wrong with you?"

Katy: "I don't know. I probably got alien cooties."


Kitten had her hackles up. - Daemon


She didn't want me? Yeah, and people in hell didn't want ice water. God, what a stupid-ass saying. People in hell were dead. They didn't drink water, iced or not. - Daemon


Wonder what Kat would do if I woke her up and said we had to work off the trace? And I wasn't thinking about the running kind of workout. Horizontal cardio. Hell, stand up, sit down, on the floor, anywhere anytime kind of cardio. I wasn't picky. Body said yes please, common sense said no. Kat would punch me in the face. Hmm. Maybe then I could ask her to kiss it and make it better. - Daemon.


What in the hell was she doing? Kat could be weird at times. After all, she really thought she could convince herself that she wasn't obsessed with me, but this? There was no logical explanation. - Daemon


Katy: "I'm hot."

Daemon: "Yeah, you're hot. The whole wet white shirt ... It's working, Kitten, but a midnight swim in November? That's a little daring, don't you think?"


I don't know how to make you better. I wish I did, but please stay with me. I need you, and I can't lose you. Not now. Not ever. - Daemon


Katy: "Embarrassed someone would see you and think you're capable of reading?"

Daemon: "I do have a reputation to maintain."

Katy: "And what a lovely reputation that is."





Kitten had claws. Couldn't forget that, She came off the desk with a mean right hook. I was faster than her and jerked back, catching her hand before it connected with my face. Since I had her wrist, I used it to my advantage. I did what I'd been wanting to do since I saw her in class this morning. I hauled her against my chest, immediately pleased by that, and lowered my head. "Don't hit, Kitten. It's not nice."


Understanding hit me. She didn't want normal friends. She wanted a normal guy. Yeah, that stung like a bitch. - Daemon


Katy: "This isn't a game."

Daemon: "I know, but if it were, I'd win."


Katy: "Are you a gentleman today?"

Daemon: "I am many surprising things."

Katy: "Uh-huh."


Ash: "Well, shit, I just lost a bet."

Daemon: "What bet?"

Ash: "Andrew is convinced that you have it bad for that girl. And I told him that you're not that stupid."

Daemon: "Oh really?"

Ash: "So I told him that I could prove that you weren't caught up in that human girl."

Daemon: "You made a bet with your brother about hooking up with me? That's kind of disturbing on about a hundred different levels."

Ash: "Apparently I was wrong. He's right."


Holy shit, that dress ... I wanted to take it off with my teeth. - Daemon


Lesa: "God, she's going to kill me for saying this. But Katy does like you. She really does. Just remember that."

Daemon: "I know."


Katy: "Oh, man, maybe I did break my butt."

Daemon: "I hope not. I'm kind of partial to your butt. Your face is pretty red. You sure you didn't smack that on the way down?"

Katy: "I hate you."

Daemon: "Nah, I don't think you do."


Katy: "Did you find it?"

Daemon: "Find what, Kitten?"

Katy: "What you were searching for?"

Daemon: "Yeah, sometimes, I think I did."


Daemon: "Am I interrupting?"

Katy: "Yes."

Daemon: "Oh, sorry." I wasn't sorry at all.


Daemon: "Do you know what I've been thinking about all day?"

Katy: "No."

Daemon: "Finding out if you look as good in striped socks as you do in reindeer ones."

Katy: "I do."

Daemon: "I knew it."


Daemon: "Dammit. Do you think I don't regret acting like a douche to you? I've apologized. You don't get it. None of this is easy for me. And I know this is hard for you. You have a lot to deal with. But I have my sister and an entire race counting on me. I didn't want you to get close to me. I didn't want another person to care about, to worry about losing. It wasn't right how I acted. I know that. But I can do better than that - better than Benny."

Katy: "Blake. I have a lot in common with Blake. He likes that I read a lot - "

Daemon: "I do, too."

Katy: "And he also blogs."

Daemon: "I have nothing against the internet."

Katy: "And he doesn't like me because of some stupid alien connection or because some other guy likes me."

Daemon: "I don't either. You can't keep pretending. It's wrong. You'll break that boy's poor little human heart."

Katy: "No, I won't."

Daemon: "You will, because you want me and I want you."


Daemon: "Why to you keep telling me what I don't want?

Katy: "Because you can't. You can't want any of this with me, not really. Maybe with Ash -"

Daemon: "I don't want Ash. If I wanted her, I'd be with her. Bit I'm not. She's not who I want."

Katy: "Neither am I. You can't honestly tell me that you'd risk every Luxen around here turning their backs on you for me."

Daemon: "And you have got to stop assuming you know what I want and what I would do."

Katy: "It's just the challenge and the connection, Daemon. Whatever you feel for me isn't real."

Daemon: "That's ridiculous."

Katy: "How can you be sure?"

Daemon: "Because I know. Because I know what I feel in here. And I'm not the type of person to run from anything, no matter how hard it is. I'd rather face-plant against a brick wall then live for the rest of my life wondering what could've been. And you know what? I didn't think you were the type to run, either. Maybe I was wrong."

Katy: "I don't run."

Daemon: "You don't? Because that's what you're doing."


Daemon: "So you're going to join us for Thanksgiving?"

Katy: "Dee's invited me, but I'm not sure yet."

Daemon: "Why?"

Katy: "I just ... I don't know. I don't want to creep all up in your family time."

Daemon: "You know you're seriously welcome, right? It's not just Dee and me having dinner."

Katy: "I know. The Thompsons and Mr. Garrison are coming over, but they're your family. I'm not.

Daemon: "You're just as important to us."


Katy: "You'd like that."

Daemon: "Undoubtedly."

Katy: "There're the adverbs again."

Daemon: "Oh, I have more for you. How about undeniably? Unequivocally?"

Katy: "Aren't you so proud of yourself."

Daemon: "Unashamedly."

Katy: "That sums up you in one word."


Kat didn't get it when it came to the whole Thanksgiving thing. She didn't think she belonged or was a part of us. She had no idea that she was beginning to mean more to me than ... Well, than anyone else that was going to be here on Thanksgiving. And that was dangerous. Potentially stupid. Risky. Also exhilarating. Thrilling. - Daemon


Dee: "Very sweet of you."

Daemon: "Shut it."


Katy: "I'm going to get changed."

Daemon: "Need help?"

Katy: "Wow. You're so chivalrous, Daemon."

Daemon: "Well, the experience would be mutually beneficial. I promise."


Her heart hadn't slowed. Neither had mine. After a couple of moments, she sighed again and then squirmed closer, quietly nudging me until I snaked my arm under her head, and rested her cheek there. I turned my head to her. Our eyes met. Her scent enveloped me, and even though I closed my eyes, I knew I wouldn't be sleeping for a long, long time. And I also know that although she wasn't mine now, she would be one day. - Daemon


Seriously, it didn't take much to turn me on when it came to Kat. She could just look at me. Talk to me. Insult me. I was pretty much in a constant state of being turned on, but this was pure torture. To have her this close, to be holding her, and not do a damn thing about it. - Daemon


Daemon: "There's nothing going on."

Dee: "Just like there's nothing happening when Adam spends the ni-"

Daemon: "Oh, come on. I don't want to hear that."


I couldn't win with her. No matter what I did, what I said, and I needed to walk away before I really said something I couldn't take back. Before she said something I couldn't let go of. - Daemon


Oh, forget this. I couldn't listen to this shit. I lifted my hand and extended my middle finger. No one saw me, but it made me feel better. - Daemon


Katy: "Hey. What are you doing? Hands off, mofo."


Katy: "What about the whole you die, I die thing?"

Daemon: "What about it? There isn't anything we can do about that other than not get ourselves killed."

Katy: "There's more to it than that. We're really joined together, you know. Like, forever ..."

Daemon: "I know."

Neither of us really spoke after that, because what else could be said? We were joined together. Forever. And knowing that didn't send me screaming off into the night.


Daemon: "Kitten. You don't get to do that and then stop. That's not how it works. Not when you're mine. And you're mine."


Daemon: "You guys seem real busy."

Adam: Whoever loses has to run out to the grocery store and get -"

Dee: "Wieners and crescent rolls!"

Adam: "That."

Andrew: "Those things are the best. I can eat an entire - dammit!"

Adam: "Oh yeah, see you later, ass."

Andrew: "This is bullshit."


Andrew: "Is it true?"

Daemon: "Is what true?"

Andrew: "Katy is coming over?"

Daemon: "You got a problem with that?"

Andrew: "Do you want an honest answer?"

Daemon: "Not really. Mainly because I don't care."


Adam: Hey, Ash, I'll be back. make sure Andrew's pulled his head out of his ass by then."

Ash: "Not my problem!"


Daemon: "You have no idea how painful I'm going to make this for you. Every bruise you gave Kat, I'm going to return to you tenfold. And I'm going to seriously enjoy this."


Matthew: "You love her."

Daemon: "I do. I love her."

Matthew: "Of course. You wouldn't have been able to change her if you didn't."

Some of the pressure squeezing the hell out of my chest lessened. I loved Kat. I was in love with her, and I was damn lucky she was alive. Despite all the craziness, the arguing and fighting, the lies and miscommunication, I was in love with her. Was that such a shock? Not really. Truth be told, I fell for her the first time she mouthed off at me. I just hadn't fully admitted it to myself. - Daemon


Daemon: "Oh, I still want to strangle you. But I'm insane. You're crazy. Maybe that's why. We just make crazy together."

Katy: "That makes no sense."

Daemon: "It kind of does, to me at least. It might have to do with the fact that you finally admitted you're deeply and irrevocably in love with me."


Daemon: "I was jealous."

Katy: "What?"

Daemon: "I was ... jealous of how much time you were spending with him. I wasn't thinking clearly when he first came into the picture. I thought I was going to lose you before ... before I had you."

Katy: "No. It was never like that with him. Maybe ... maybe in the beginning I wanted it to be, because I was so confused about how I felt about you, but when he kissed me, I didn't feel anything. Nothing. It wasn't anything like when you kiss me."


She was perfect to me. She was mine, and I wanted her more than I wanted anything in my life. - Daemon


Katy: "I think I might love you."

Air punched out of my lungs. I held her tight, and I knew right then I would burn down the whole universe for her if I had to. I would do anything to keep her safe. Kill. Heal. Die. Anything. Because she was my everything. And I wanted to tell her so, but I didn't want to tempt the universe. Bad things happened to the people I loved, - Daemon


You think this will be the last of me? You're wrong. I will haunt every step you take for hurting her. That's a check my foot is going to cash in your ass. - Daemon


My hands dropped to her waist and I held her against me, letting her feel just how badly I wanted her, so there was no doubt that she was it for me. She was mine. I was hers. A truth that would never change. - Daemon


 

Check out this book from Katy's POV, or check out Part 1 and Part 3 of Oblivion below!



40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page