top of page
Search

Oblivion III by Jennifer L Armentrout

Updated: Jan 15


Oblivion Part III

by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Published by Entangled Teen

Daemon's Point of View in Opal

Book #3 in LUX series


I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it.

And trouble’s the last thing I need, since I’m not exactly from around here. My people arrived on Earth from Lux, a planet thirteen billion light years away. Plus, if there’s one thing I know, it’s that humans can’t be trusted. We scare them. We can do things they only dream about, and honestly, we make them look weak as hell. ‘Cuz they are.

But Kat is getting to me in ways no one else has, and I can’t stop myself from wanting her—or wanting to use my powers to protect her. She makes me weak, and I’m the strongest of our kind, tasked with protecting us all. So this one simple girl…she can mean the end for us. Because the Luxen have an even bigger enemy—the Arum, and I need to stay on my game.

Falling for Katy—a human—won’t just place her in danger. It could get us all killed, and that’s one thing I’ll never let happen…



Genre:


Triggers

Violence, Kidnapping (not by MC), Stalking (not by MC)


 

Watch out! Spoilers below!


Oblivion part III is Daemon's point of view in the LUX series, Opal's book. I won't do a huge review of this one, because I have already posted my thoughts on Opal, and a lot of it is the same. Like Oblivion part I and II though, it also has some extra scenes to add a little something to the story, and it also ends with a small but from Paris's POV (will get to that in the end).


Part III really focuses on Daemon and Katy's relationship, and just how much he loves her. He loves her desperately. It also centers around Dawson, and the aftereffects of being imprisoned with Daedalus, and his determination to get Beth back from them. After weeks of Dawson trying to escape his family and find Beth, Katy offers Daemon and her's help to get her back to Dawson.


As we know from Opal, Katy is the glue that helps Daemon and Dawson bond again. Through Daemon's thoughts, we know he was very angry with Dawson, and thought he was an idiot for dating Beth before they were captured. It caused a lot of tension in their relationship. We know Daemon has changed quite a bit since meeting Katy. Dawson watching Daemon's goodness come out, seeing him in love ... with a human no less, brings the brothers closer than ever. Daemon finally understands why Dawson did the things he did. He couldn't help it. He loves Beth, like Daemon loves Katy.


It's also interesting to see how Daemon and Katy's relationship progresses through his point of view. No doubt, they still argue like they did before they got together, but now he makes an effort to listen to her. He knows she is strong. Respects the hell out of her. Their trust in one another is unshakable.


Small note, I love when they finally make love, and how utterly tender he is with her. How nervous he is. He makes no secret he has lots of experience, and yet, with Katy, sex finally means something. Its intimacy on such a level he has never experienced before. Its beautiful.


The added little scene at the end between Paris and Luc leads you into the next book in the Lux series, Origin, but also introduces you to a spin-off series that I can't wait to read, The Origin series.

If you loved the LUX series, you would love all three of the Oblivion books. Being in Daemon's mind, you finally understand why he says, and does, the things he does.



 



 


Katy: "All right. The alien testosterone right now is a little too much, and I really don't want to have an alien brawl in my house on top of the broken window and the dead body that came through it. Bit if you two don't knock it off, I'll kick both of your asses. What?"

Daemon: "Simmer down, Kitten, before I have to get you a ball of yarn to play with."


Daemon: "What ... what did they do to you in there, Dawson?"

Dawson: "What didn't they do?"


I was the epitome of a gentleman ... on the outside. In my head, the things I was think about were definitely not gentlemanly. - Daemon


Daemon: "Come here."

Kat crawled over.

Daemon: "Closer."

She rolled her eyes, but inched over.

Daemon: "Lie with me."

Katy: "You're so needy."

Daemon: "I am the neediest needy guy out there right now."


I could live on those kisses.

I could live on those tiny breaths.

I could live on her. - Daemon


All thoughts vanished as she took the jacket off and tossed it inside the SUV. Holy shit, I wanted to get her up against the nearby tree and I also wanted her to put the damn jacket back on.

I stepped back, eyeing her from the pointy toes of her boots, up the ripped black tights, over the short denim skirt, and then my gaze got hung up on her bare stomach and that cute little belly button.

Oh damn. - Daemon


Blake: "Are you guys having sex or dancing?"

Daemon: "Do you want to ever have sex? Because I'm about to fix it so you never can."


Amazing. Took only two minutes to turn her into boneless, happy, and sated Kat. And it only took two minutes to piss her off. - Daemon


Ethan: "You're seeing a human."

Daemon: "Among other things."


Ethan: "You're young, Daemon, and you're at an age where you think you know everything.

Daemon: "I know a lot of stuff."

Ethan: "And you're foolish because of your age, despite what you may believe. Do not think you're the only Luxen male ... or female to sample outside of our kind. But all of us, including you, will choose one of your own."

Daemon: "I hate to break it to you, Ethan, but that's not going to happen. I'm not just 'sampling' the human race here. You can outcast me. You can threaten to report me to the DOD. It's not going to change anything."

Ethan: "You so sure of that, Daemon?"

Daemon: "Positive."


Daemon: "I love it when your claws come out."

Katy: "Oh, shut up."


Oh, those claws were still out. Really messed up that I found it hot. - Daemon


Daemon: "Son of a bitch ..."

Kat: "It's okay. He needs you."

Yeah, but I needed Kat, like real bad.


Daemon: "I hope you didn't give me cooties."


She stopped in the first row, bent over, and tossed her hair over her head, shaking it out, and that was an instant turn-on.

Daemon: "This reminds me of a Whitesnake video."

Kat: "Huh?"

Daemon: "If you start climbing on car hoods, I think I might marry you."


gif

Luc: "You didn't give any indication you knew ET didn't phone home."

What a little asshole.


Dee: "You were on ... her and your mouths were doing this."

She unfolded her arms and smushed her hands together repeatedly. I frowned at the gestures. That was not how Kat and I looked.


Katy text: "What R U doing?"

Daemon text: "With Andrew, Matthew & Dawson, getting dinner. Want smthing?"

Andrew stared at me. I ignored him. My phone dinged.

Katy text: "You."

Hell, that made me sit up straighter. Standing, I ignored the way Matthew sighed.

Daemon: "Be right back."

Dawson: "Watch. He's going to leave our asses here."


Andrew: "If you need help finding your balls, I'm sure Katy knows where they are."

Daemon: "She knows where they are, because that's where they belong."

Daemon flicks Andrew's cheek using a spark of the Source.

Daemon: "Whoops."

Andrew: "Jesus, man. Asshole."

Daemon and Andrew go back to table.

Dawson: "I ordered you meat loaf."

Daemon: "Perfect."

Matthew: "What happened to your face?"

Daemon: "My balls."


Our eyes locked. I cupped her cheek and spoke three short words in my own language, words that were powerful but still didn't match what I felt for her. - Daemon


Katy: "You're awake."

Daemon: "Uh-huh."

Katy: "You were supposed to be asleep."

Daemon: "For what reason?"

Katy: "I wanted to sneak into your bed and surprise you."

Daemon: "I can make that happen. I'll go crawl into bed and pretend to be asleep."

Katy: "Not the same thing."

Daemon: "No?"

Katy: "No, because you're awake."

Daemon: "All right then. Are you going to come into my room or stay halfway in the hall?"

Katy: "I don't know yet."

Daemon: "Kitten ..."


Katy: "I woke up and couldn't fall back asleep."

Daemon: "You were missing me."

Katy: "Maybe."

Daemon: "Just admit it."

Katy: "I don't need to admit anything, because if your ego gets any bigger, it'll need its own zip code."

Daemon: "I know something else that'll need its own zip code if it gets any-"

Katy: "Oh my God. Don't even finish that sentence."


Katy: "Why aren't you asleep?"

Daemon: "I was missing you."

Katy: "Shut up."


Daemon: "We can go back whenever you want."

Katy: "I don't want to leave."

Daemon: "Then get your happy little hybrid butt over here."


gif

 

Check out this book in Katy's POV, or check out Parts 1 and 2 of Oblivion


155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page