top of page
Search

Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout

Updated: Jan 10


Obsidian

by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Published by Entangled Teens Book #1 The Lux Series


Starting over sucks.


When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring...until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don't kill him first, that is.



Genre:


Triggers:

Some violence (not my MC), physical attack (not by MC), bullying behavior

 

Spoilers below friends!


So admission time: this is my second read through of this book. Its the first book in the Lux series, and I plan on reading through the whole series again. And again. I rate it up there with my love of the Harry Potter series, so I love it a lot. This is Obsidian though, and I am going to try my best reviewing just this book, and not the whole series.


You should know, its an awesome introduction to the series. The two main characters, Kat and Daemon, are fun reads, with Daemon having just that hint of mystery to his character. The side characters are just as interesting. Normally I don't care too much for side characters, but Jennifer Armentrout does a great job fleshing out these characters, that I didn't feel like I was reading about the same person, copy and pasted. I was a little worried when I saw Obsidian described as a cross between Roswell and Dawsons Creek. Don't get me wrong, I loved both shows. It just seemed to be a weird cross, and I was expecting a copy and paste situation of Roswell. Obsidian pulls off a wonderfully unique story though. The only things is takes from Roswell and Dawson's Creek, is the story centering around a human, forming relationships with aliens, and they are seniors in high school. Kat and Daemon have this insane chemistry that leaps off the pages, even when they are hot and cold with each other. Their relationship with one another grows rather organically, and isn't rushed. They start off at each others throats, move on to "frenemy" status, and ends ... well, still at each others throats, but openly admitting they are attracted to each other. As much as I wanted them to end up together in the end, I really loved that it didn't happen, just because it was the end of the book. It leaves you wanting more. Not just to find out if they finally get together, but because the story is so damn good, you just gotta know what is coming next.


Kat is a great example of a kick ass female character. She is intelligent, funny, and passionate, especially about her books and her book review blog. She also forces herself to stop being a bystander, and taking other peoples bullshit. She stands up for herself with Daemon is being an asshole, and doesn't let him get away with it. She is fiercely loyal. The author doesn't need to say it either. Its organic. Despite the fact that she is in danger, she continues her friendship with Dee. She promises she won't tell anyone their secret, but proves it when she knows she will die, and painfully, she still refuses to tell the Arum (Luxens mortal enemies) where Daemon and Dee is.


Daemon's character is very rough around the edges. He has reason to be, as we learn that his brother died a year previously, because he fell in love with a human. He is terrified of reliving the pain with Dee, his only surviving family member, and will do anything to protect her. This means, he can be a total asshole. To Kat. We can tell though, that it isn't the only reason. From Kat's point of view, its easy to see that Daemon's not just attracted to Kat. He has feelings for her. Dangerous, considering she is human. So not only for Dee's sake does he purposely push Kat away, but for his own as well. He is smart, insanely funny, strong, and guarded. Very guarded. In another book, we get this same story but in his point of view. It adds so much insight to his character, but thats for another review. :)


The side characters are just as interesting to read, because Jennifer Armentrout does such a good job making sure they are individuals. Dee, Kat's new best friend, and Daemons sister is sweet, vulnerable, and lonely. Just because she wears her heart on her sleeve though, doesn't mean she won't stand up for herself with her brother, and The Thompsons. I loved every time she brought up the fact that Ash was acting like a bitch, often right to her face. We don't get too much of the Thompson triplets in Obsidian, or Matthew, (the Blacks and Thompsons guardian of sorts, and bio teacher at the school). What we do get, is that Ash and Andrew very much don't like Kat. After what happened to Daemon's and Dee's brother Dawson, he doesn't understand how Daemon let Kat coming into their lives happened. Ash is the same, but she is also insanely jealous of the fact that Daemon is attracted to Kat, and she has no problem being an asshole. Adam seems to the the quieter one. I can tell he is concerned, but he gives Kat a chance when the others don't. Mr. Garrison, is a tougher read. At first, he is angry. He still isn't happy by the end of the book, but Kat proved herself when she saved Daemon's life, so he tolerates her. We don't see too much of her mom. Its made clear that after Kat's father died, her mom poured herself into work, and 3 years later, she is very often working, leaving her daughter at home. Kat might dislike it, but she still has a very easy going, almost friend like quality with her mom.

So after rereading, I give this book the same score I gave it when I first read it .... 5/5. The story itself is original, and interesting enough that both times I read it, I read the book in a day. Its not the shortest book either. The characters are very fleshed out, and fun to read. From the start of the book, to the end, there is constant action. I was never bored reading it. Obviously. I read it twice. I will recommend this book to anyone ... anytime. Multiple times. Just ask my best friend. :)




 



 


Kat: "Thanks, douchebag."

Daemon: "Now, that's not very ladylike, Kittycat."


Kat: "Yeah, its kind of a hobby. What's yours? Kicking puppies?"

Daemon: "I'm not sure I should say in front of my sister."

Dee: "Ew."


Daemon: "You're kind of dirty, Kitten."


Daemon: "You sure are shy, aren't you, Kitten?"

Kat: "Why do you call me that?"

Daemon: "Because it makes your hair stand up, like a kitten."


Kat: "Yeah, people call me kitten all the time. But you make it sounds so ...

Daemon: "Sound so what?"

Kat: "I don't know. Like its an insult. Or something sexually deviant."


Daemon: "I've always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect. The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. Its just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness."


Kat: "You're such an ass. Has ... anyone ever told you that?"

Daemon: "Oh, Kitten, every single day of my blessed life."


Daemon: "Oh, you're an expert in crazy people now?"

Kat: "A month with you and I feel like I have a master's degree in the subject."


Daemon: "In your dreams, Kitten. Oh wait, I'm already starring in those, aren't I?"

Kat: "Nightmares, Daemon. Nightmares."


Kat: "Aliens - if they exist - are little green men with big eyes and spindly arms or ... or giant insects or something like a lumpy little creature."

Daemon: "ET?"

Kat: "Yes! Like ET, asshole. I'm so glad you find this funny."


Kat: "Why do you call me that?"

Daemon: "You remind me of a little kitten, all claws and no bite."


Kat: "Asshole."

Daemon: "You have such a mouth on you. Do you kiss boys with that thing?"


Daemon: "And how are we going to get her to exert energy."

Andrew: "We could take her out to a field and chase her around in our cars. That sounds fun."

Kat: "Oh, fuc - "

Daemon: "I don't think thats a good idea. Funny, but not a good idea. Humans are fragile."

Kat: "How about I shove my fragile foot up your ass."


Kat: "I'm not even attracted to you. Not even a little bit. You're -"

Daemon: "I'm what?"

Kat: "Ignorant."

Daemon: "And?"

Kat: "Arrogant. Controlling. And you're ... you're a jerk."

Daemon: "Oh, I'm sure you can do better than that, kitten. Because I seriously doubt you're not attracted to me."

Kat: "I'm totally not attracted to you."

Daemon: "You're lying."

Kat: "And you're overconfident. You know, the whole arrogant thing like I mentioned. Not attractive."

Daemon: "Every time you lie, your cheeks turn red."

Kat: "Nuh-uh. You're wrong."

Daemon: "You probably even dream about me. I bet you even write my name in your notebooks, over and over again, with a little heart drawn around it."

Kat: "In your dreams, Daemon. You;re the last person I think -"

Daemon kissed me.


Lesa: "Probably because he wants to poke you with something else."





Daemon; "We get along. Sometimes we do."


Daemon: "If I wanted to be with you, you'd make it hard, wouldn't you?

Kat: "You don't want to be with me."

Daemon: "I'm thinking I kind of do."


 

Check out the rest of the LUX Series below (Oblivion is split into 3 parts)

480 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page